Sunday, October 10, 2010

ADHD, or...when in doubt, horse's mouth.

Periodically, such as lately, the media brings the "affliction" of ADHD to the forefront of our lives. Recently, it has been discovered from the human genome, that true ADHD is a genetic difference that is an inheritable trait. Most that have dealt with ADHD in their personal lives were very well aware of this fact, but nonetheless, we are ever so thankful of scientists and reporters to take credit for informing us. ;)

The fact alone that most mainstream people were not aware that it IS a true difference is a testament to just how rare the condition is, which modern reports list as 2-3% on average. Doing the math, average 2010 US population is 306 million. 2% of that is a rather modest 6 million in the entire country, give or take (6.1 million being more accurate). Basically, that means that on the law of averages, the possibility of you actually meeting the rarity that is a person with ADHD is rather small, perhaps one or two in your town/city. Those estimates are child and adult versions of the same, of which adult ADHD is an even greater rarity, as most children "grow out of it" in their late teens.

As a personal witness, aside form myself, I have only ever meet around 5 children affected by it, and 2 adults. If I had stayed put upon graduation of high school, and not become a veritable gypsy, that number would go down to 2 and 1 respectively.

These numbers are verifiable easily enough by yourself, the reader, with 5 minutes of research. I've even been courteous enough to provide a couple links at the bottom of this post :). Now, these numbers do tend to refute what certain information comes across, such as adverts for ADHD medication that make it sound if your scatter brained, you need pills. Mind you...that particular company is out to make money, not make your life better...lol.

Scatter brained, inattentive, forgetful, disrespectful. Those adjectives and more usually go hand in hand with ADHD unfortunately. The saddest things about it...it is NOT remotely what ADHD is. The condition itself is actually misnamed from what it actually does, but then most of the researchers and educators on ADHD are just as normal and bland as vanilla ice cream. Harsh, but true. I'll tackle each particular myth regarding ADHD as a list to make it easier.

1) "ADHD is like watching a tv and you don't have control of the remote, and the channel changes without warning."

--My favorite advert I love to hate. Pure definition from someone without a clue. A correct analogy is it is more like the old "wall of tv's" in electronic stores. Remember? 100 tv's all on the same channel like a big jigsaw puzzle? Now, imagine ALL of those tv's on a different channel, with the same volume. Confused yet? Now add the awareness of all those channels (as in you know the specific channel). Now, as you attempt to process that information, can you imagine that you may get called "scatter brained"? The key is not to eliminate the channels to just the one, which in a roundabout way is what drugs do, it is to learn and harness your natural control in order to control the channels you don't want to pay attention to. Unless the goal is what is called "hyperfocus" (see below), in which all should be equal.

2) "This kid is not listening to a single word I just said! You're so full of shit!"
--LOL! Don't assume anything...there is a difference between ADHD and being a shithead. ADHD takes a LOT to diagnose, and if it's the real deal...call the kid on it. Say "Hey, what did I just say?" Then the key is make sure your jaw does not hit the floor when he recites VERBATIM what you just said the last 15 minutes or so. We hear and pay attention to EVERYTHING, we can't help it.

3) "My kid doesn't listen, he's hyper! He doesn't listen to his teachers, and doesn't do his chores! He MUST have ADHD!"
--Then get him tested, if he's under the age of 10 (Recent recommendation say no older than 7). If he's older, maybe some discipline is in order. But...does he/she have trouble in class, but not our of class? Does he have a lot of friends or just a few? Those that act normal at play, and have an active social life are NOT(!) indicative of ADHD, but rather the lacking of discipline, control, manners.

4) "They prescribe medicine for my child, so it can't hurt right? You're not a doctor, why recommend no meds at all?"
--You're right, I am not a doctor...though I am EMT trained, I do not have any formal education regarding medication outside of psychology classes. However, the medication prescribed for ADHD functions in a "back door" way. That is, it does not "treat" anything, it amps attention levels and serves to make one hyper well beyond normal amounts. In layman's terms, what the medicine does is raise the "active attention level" well above the rest, mimicking the functions of a "normal" person. It does not in the slightest "calm the mind." The medicines prescribed are speed/methamphetamine...with the side effects that go with it. Now, the ADHD mind operates at a much faster and all inclusive nature than a non-ADHD mind does. So the combination of that with speed typically leaves the medicated person overdosed, leaving the person in an unnatural state of calm, with an extreme case of the jitters, or shakes.

Also, the long term effects of such medication, extending years has not been fully tested beyond the childhood years. Speaking of myself, I had after effects of those shakes for over 5 years after I ceased taking my medication at the age of 10. Yea...10, what, did those that personally know me think I was on meds this whole time? Heh...

5) "ADHD makes it hard to complete projects."
--Yes, but not why you think. Projects are usually worked out mentally before beginning, with the end effect visualized before it starts. So, at least for me the completion is an act of effort, which is where music comes into play. Typically, the ADHD mind excels at things that are of great interest, no matter what talents the person has. Personally, my grades (in high school) were off the charts in drama, IT, history, english...but lacking a little in science and math. Not because I was not good at them, or lacked the knowledge, but because I lacked the "giving a shit"...lol.

6) "Ok, smart guy...what ARE the signs of true ADHD?"
--Typically, a higher than average IQ goes hand in hand with the real deal. When I was diagnosed, part of the testing process included two IQ tests. Matter of fact, a disproportional number of the "Top 1-2%'ers" are also ADHD positive, which may explain their usual behaviour. One of my favorite tests is to talk to an individual or have them listen to music (that they like) and see if they perfom other task normally...such as math problems, physical activity (ambidextrous catch it usually fun), or memory exercises. In short...the best way to test for it is to test for natural multi-tasking, which the ADHD-mindset excels at. Memory, observation, and assimilation of knowledge/facts are also hallmarks of ADHD.

7) "You make it sound so much better than being "normal"! What gives?"
--I'd rather have it than not have it personally. There are theories that ADHD is actually an evolutionary step forward, and we're just working out the kinks. Another train of thought is that it goes back to the time where we depended on warriors/hunters for our day to day survival, due usually to "hyperfocus". Mind you, I have dealt with this my entire life (almost 32 years), I know what it does, and what it does not do. The key is to understand it on a personal level, and harness it's potential, rather than subjugate it like society would have us do.

Last question: "Ok...so ADHD makes you think alot, what are you thinking about right now?"

--Ok, you asked for it. Currently I am, at the second I write this:
Watching 28days later on second monitor.
Keeping an eye on both FB updates and my email (firefox tabs ftw)
I've been writing this too long.
It's a little warm today
Damn, this new chair is comfortable
My pudding is getting lonely...I hope the heat doesn't kill it.
My new contacts are cool and annoying at the same time
My headache finally went away.
My stomach doesn't hurt for a change lol
That really is a cool scar I have ya know, kinda spirally
And yes, still thinking of what else to write.
----Don't believe that?give mne a call ans ask me what I'm thinking...--


There are several main issues that damage the individuals capability of understanding and utilizing their difference. One being the assumption that it is negative in all forms, we've all heard at one point or another "You have ADHD, OMG!" or "You must have ADHD, you're such a shithead." Basically, we must understand what it is and what it is not, and have spokes persons, researchers, and therapists that actually HAVE it. We MUST communicate to those that are truly ADHD positive that there is not a single things wrong with them, they are not screw ups, shit heads, or misbehaved. That monstrous hurdle must be crossed before the individual can take it and make it work for them.

ADHD must also be treated appropriately. It is NOT an emotional condition, my ADHD doesn't have a damn thing to do with how I feel, it's about how I think...which is vastly different than yours, I assure you. Medication is not proper, as it results in an abnormal, alternate state of consciousness that warps and distorts the mind itself. If you say no to meth, why are you peddling it to your friggin kid?! Ironically, one of the newly recommended ways of learning to harness the basic nature of ADHD (and hyperfocus) is JAPANESE martial arts, as "hyperfocus" is alluded to being very similar to he learned skill of "Mushin" or "no-mind", which basically extends ones awareness to the entirety of the current situation without specific attention a single one. Want a good example/illustration? Watch "The Last Samurai", specifically, the end of Algren's training and the ambush in Kyoto towards the end of the movie.
ADHD does make one bored easily, unfortunately, but it IS controllable. Some write, do mental puzzles (Sherlock Holmes is an example), watch movies mentally, or listen to music. Every wonder why exactly I seem to relate most especially to music, and that my tastes seem to change to fit my mood? Now you know. "Mood music" helps to fill up my "lower attention levels" allowing me to concentrate more easily on what I want to do.
Now...the sad fact for children today is that all of the non medicated, healthy methods of acclimating to ADHD violate almost every single conduct rule of elementary/high school in the US/UK alone. Until that changes, kids that are true ADHD will continue to run into trouble from time to time with teachers. Now, I did have the odd teacher here and there that paid attention, figured out what I was interested in and assigned extra work for me to do, just to do it. That fairly well kept me out of trouble...bad news is it was past my "giving a shit" stage.

Also speaking entirely for myself, I refuse to use it as a crutch, and if treated differently or special as a result of being true ADHD, well, I have two middle fingers and I know how to use them, verda? It's like any other difference from "normal", no special needs, just understanding.

Also a pet theory...one that needs research, but I am looking into the possibility that ADHD enables a person to use more of their brain than is typical, resulting in the possibility of supernatural/psychic phenomena (though I loathe the word "psychic").

Well...one again, another epistle. Any questions, feel free. Extra reading to follow as promised.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attention-deficit_hyperactivity_disorder
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperfocus

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Family, aka "lolwut?"

Families have been the basic foundations of social structure for millenia, providing both a starting point and a destination for those seeking social advancement (read patri/matri-cide). The vast majority of people in all countries are born into some sort of familial structure, whether rich or poor, white or black, American or British. Though the family itself may be patriarchal or matriarchal, you get the idea.

Some cultures place more emphasis on families and their role in a person's life and/or development, in particular Asian and certain western European cultures as well (read Scottish and Irish). Granted, this may vary somewhat in the "Colonies", as cultures are watered down with every succeeding generation.

These ties may carry on after death, as the vast majority of those that have experienced the phenomena known as Near Death Experience (NDE) have reported seeing previously departed family members during this time. Myself included in that as well, though I rarely talk about it.

Familial ties range from the mundane, advice giving, "learning the ropes", "birds and the bees", etc, to fully paying their way through life (trust funds), to arranging for marriages to take place before the person in question is even old enough to appreciate the opposite sex (same sex arrangements generally do not happen in such "old world" families). They may also vary in the amount and saturation of contact with each individual in the family line. Anyone that has ever sat down to a "silent dinner" should be acquainted with the last.
Family is the best, and in some cases, and only way of passing down family knowledge, culture, history, "roots", and goals (if any). It is far easier to learn of one's background at the feet, as it were, or an older family member (grandparent, aunt/uncle, parent) than it is to do the research and leg work on their own.

Take my word on that one...

That all being said, I find myself consistently fascinated by those that have strong family ties, with histories and tall tales that go back generations (though anyone that pokes on my facebook may have a different idea, indeed). For I did not, and still don't, have such ties or history, with very rare exceptions. All I know of for sure is that I am a de facto Scottish clan member (MacMorris), part of my family hails from County Carlow, Ireland as well as the Windsor line, and on this side of the ocean I am part Western Cherokee. I also have family ties to Seoul, South Korea on my father's side.

Like so many in this day and age, I hail from what is called a "broken home", that is to say that my birth parents divorced at a young age for me and my mother re-married about 27 years ago. My father, being active military, was not around simply because he was not able, though I did see him when he took leave and on holidays...sometimes. He remarried as well to an absolutely wonderful lady from Korea that took me as a son and treated me as such (which for that culture is to say....like gold), though it took me years to get her bulgogi recipe from my sister (lol). It is my belief that she maintained the contact with him, as well as birthday and Christmas cards/presents. When they divorced, all of the above ended. In fact, it was 7 years between contact simply because he moved out of state and for whatever reason (choose to believe whatever (lol), I was not informed.

Mom's side? Oh that's an even bigger mess, suffice to say...the passive, "out of sight, out of mind" outlook from my father is preferable. So, basically...growing up I had my parents (mom and my stepfather) and my grandparent, who are both deceased now. My grandfather in '94 from lung disease he acquired in his 30 years as a Fire Chief) and my Grandmother in the same accident that killed me, though obviously I am not so good at *staying* dead.

So yea...I am amazed, delighted, and somewhat in awe of those that grew up with and still have a vastly different family experience that I have had. What is also of an amazement are those that abuse it, disparage it, or complain about it. Granted, even with that...when it comes to marriages and children, I believe that family should be kept at arm's reach. Though, I admit, it may come my own personal experiences more than anything else, though family by its very nature meddle in such things. And I am not a fan of someone else meddling in my affairs, unless it's a job. Wanna give me a job, meddle away!

For those of you out there that did/do have the opposite of my experience, enjoy it, revel in it. As the saying goes, "it could always be worse". Enjoy your parents, your aunts/uncles, sisters, brothers, cousins. Enjoy it for those like myself that did not have such things. Absorb it all, send some of the familial good will to us.

As always, and with everything, enjoy it while you can, for one day assuredly, it will end. Know what you have...when you have it, not when you do not.

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Intentions

This isn't another one of those "The road to hell is paved with..." speeches, for as we know, the road to hell is paved with tits, according to Electronic Arts...But at any rate, intention is basically the key to anything and everything that you are attempting to accomplish, both in the physical and not-so worlds. It shapes and gives form to what you are attempting to accomplish, and can, at times sabotage your entire effort. If you are angry at the time you begin, that will color you whole endeavor. If you're having "giggle fits" while trying something serious...even so. Want to test this? Put on a good standup comedian, be it Robin Williams, Bill Engvall, Eddie Griffin, etc and try to balance a bowl of water on your head...try not to spill any. Does that seem too much like a test of wills to you? Maybe because that's what it is...at first.
The idea is to allow your endeavor and your intentions to mesh into one, and then success is yours, in whatever it is that you are attempting to do. Especially in the metaphysical aspects, where what you are trying to do could completely backfire in your face. Crowley may or may not call it a Declaration, but he's full of it anyway, so his opinion doesn't count. I call it a "Surrender" of sorts, a surrender to yourself and the world around you.
It is simply to clear your mind of all distractions, inside and out. To "quiet your mind" so to speak, so that there is no thought, only self. There is no fast and easy rule or timeframe for this, but it's usually the goal of most meditation, but you are meditating on NOTHING, for to meditate on anything is to already color what you are attempting. Then, and only then, do you state, or form your intentions within yourself.
A good personal example is this: When asking someone to scry for me, this person did take the time to clear the mind and focus on the intentions, which was more or less to quiet my unease and misgivings regarding...someone. If the intent was blocked by "I'm doing this to shut him up", the results wouldn't have been clear, if at all there. Instead, the clarity of it gave a clear image almost as good as a printed picture.
That example could be used for anything. Asking for a promotion, raise, looking for work. Before beginning an important task, simply quiet your mind (followers of Bushido call this Mushin, or "no-mind"), and then focus on your intent. It is the key, and will lead you to where you are needed to go. Notice I did not say "Where you want to go".....

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

"Sleeping Awake"

Reveal to me the mysteries
Can you tell me what it means?
Explain these motions and metaphors
Unlock these secrets in me
Describe your vision, the meaning is missing
Won't anybody listen?

Define the riddles of my mind
Nothing is strictly what it seems

Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Sleeping Awake
Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Can't stop Sleeping Awake

Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel what I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping Awake
Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel like I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping...

Can you see it? The writing,
Can you tell me what it means?
Translate the symbols, Enigma
Expressions keep questioning me
The message is written, the meaning is missing
Won't anybody Listen?

Prophesy, interpretate the signs
Nothing is really what it seems

Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Sleeping Awake
Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Can't stop Sleeping Awake

Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel what I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping Awake
Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel like I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping Awake

Do you see what I see?
Can you hear what I hear?
And do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
And do you feel like I feel?
And can you dream like I dream?

Do you see what I see?
Can you hear what I hear?
Or do you feel like I feel?
Or do you dream like I dream?
Anybody see me?
Anybody hear me?
Anybody feel me?
Anybody out there?!?

Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Sleeping Awake
Dreaming of Zion, Awake
Can't stop Sleeping Awake

Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel what I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping Awake
Do you see what I see?
And can you hear what I hear?
Do you feel like I feel?
Can't stop Sleeping Awake


"Sleeping Awake"
-P.O.D. - 2003